Keep Your Greek (10)

Encouragement, Comments & Other Information
Many years ago I attempted to learn some New Testament Greek with a friend of mine from Germany, who had a very good grasp of the language. I didn’t get too far back then, as it was done informally and not in a structured classroom environment, which is what best suits my learning style. But one thing my friend said, that has always stayed with me was in response to a question I asked him. My question was: “What is it like being able to read the New Testament in its original language as opposed to an English translation?” His response was that it was like watching a colour television instead of a black and white TV.

This immediately conjured up in my mind the time of when my parents purchased our first colour TV back in the mid 70s. I was at school that day and we knew that they were picking up the new TV that afternoon. When I got home after school, the afternoon cartoons were on and for the first time in our home they were in brilliant colour – the experience left our jaws on the ground and was best described as completely immersive.

Since beginning formal studies in NT Greek two years ago, I am yet to experience that kind of immersion in terms of the colour TV analogy, but what I have found on a few occasions is that I have experienced a different kind of immersion – this time the immersion was one of watching a movie in mono sound compared to watching that same movie in surround sound.

My first experience with surround sound was also similar to my experience with colour TV, only this was much later in life when I was at a friend’s home and he had just set up his surround sound system. He got me to sit in the middle of the room and he played some snippets from a war movie (from memory). My immediate response was to look around the room to see where all the sounds were coming from. I felt like I was in the middle of the war scene.

Recently, when reading a section of John’s Gospel I felt a similar experience, where the words of Jesus and his brothers seemed to surround me and I felt like I was an innocent bystander in the middle of their group, listening to the dialogue between Jesus and his siblings. I could almost sense the height of the people behind me as they spoke to Jesus and then hearing the wisdom from the lips of Jesus himself in this familial setting helped me grasp how sometimes even our own unbelieving family members, don’t seem to ‘get us’.

Obviously we don’t read the Greek, to exclusively have these types of experiences but when they do come our way, the Word becomes even more alive and as a result, very memorable. It’s this experience that devotionally has the power to inform and transform us, to take our minds back to the initial setting, to feel the context and share the emotions. Reading and translating some Greek has become an added part of my daily devotional life. I trust that it might be yours also.

Paradigms
Write out or recite the Pluperfect, Active, Indicative, of λυω – to loose
(1s)
(2s)
(3s)
(1p)
(2p)
(3p)

Principal Parts
Write out or recite the principal parts for ἀγω – to lead
(Present Active)
(Future Active)
(Aorist Active)
(Perfect Active)
(Perfect Passive)
(Aorist Passive)

Greek Reading and Translation
Each day read through the 10 verses below and translate each of them over the coming week. (To assist with your translation you can work directly in an Excel spreadsheet or print off a PDF copy for handwritten translations)
Excel: (10) John 3.15-3.24
PDF: (10) John 3.15-3.24

(John 3:15-24 NA28-Mounce)
15 ἵνα πᾶς ὁ πιστεύων ἐν αὐτῷ ἔχῃ ζωὴν αἰώνιον. 16 οὕτως γὰρ ἠγάπησεν ὁ θεὸς τὸν κόσμον, ὥστε τὸν υἱὸν τὸν μονογενῆ ἔδωκεν, ἵνα πᾶς ὁ πιστεύων εἰς αὐτὸν μὴ ἀπόληται ἀλλʼ ἔχῃ ζωὴν αἰώνιον. 17 οὐ γὰρ ἀπέστειλεν ὁ θεὸς τὸν υἱὸν εἰς τὸν κόσμον ἵνα κρίνῃ τὸν κόσμον, ἀλλʼ ἵνα σωθῇ ὁ κόσμος διʼ αὐτοῦ. 18 ὁ πιστεύων εἰς αὐτὸν οὐ κρίνεται · ὁ δὲ μὴ πιστεύων ἤδη κέκριται, ὅτι μὴ πεπίστευκεν εἰς τὸ ὄνομα τοῦ μονογενοῦς υἱοῦ τοῦ θεοῦ. 19 αὕτη δέ ἐστιν ἡ κρίσις ὅτι τὸ φῶς ἐλήλυθεν εἰς τὸν κόσμον καὶ ἠγάπησαν οἱ ἄνθρωποι μᾶλλον τὸ σκότος ἢ τὸ φῶς · ἦν γὰρ αὐτῶν πονηρὰ τὰ ἔργα. 20 πᾶς γὰρ ὁ φαῦλα πράσσων μισεῖ τὸ φῶς καὶ οὐκ ἔρχεται πρὸς τὸ φῶς, ἵνα μὴ ἐλεγχθῇ τὰ ἔργα αὐτοῦ · 21 ὁ δὲ ποιῶν τὴν ἀλήθειαν ἔρχεται πρὸς τὸ φῶς, ἵνα φανερωθῇ αὐτοῦ τὰ ἔργα ὅτι ἐν θεῷ ἐστιν εἰργασμένα. 22 Μετὰ ταῦτα ἦλθεν ὁ Ἰησοῦς καὶ οἱ μαθηταὶ αὐτοῦ εἰς τὴν Ἰουδαίαν γῆν καὶ ἐκεῖ διέτριβεν μετʼ αὐτῶν καὶ ἐβάπτιζεν. 23 Ἦν δὲ καὶ ὁ Ἰωάννης βαπτίζων ἐν Αἰνὼν ἐγγὺς τοῦ Σαλείμ, ὅτι ὕδατα πολλὰ ἦν ἐκεῖ, καὶ παρεγίνοντο καὶ ἐβαπτίζοντο · 24 οὔπω γὰρ ἦν βεβλημένος εἰς τὴν φυλακὴν ὁ Ἰωάννης.

Grammar
Each day this week, skim read through a chapter of your first Greek Grammar or one you are familiar with. (skim reading a specific chapter each day, either sequentially or randomly, will help re-enforce foundational topics and move them into long term memory)

Keep Your Greek (10)
Continue reading for Quiz answers.

Answers to Keep Your Greek (10)

Paradigms
Write out or recite the Pluperfect, Active, Indicative, of λυω – to loose
(1s) (ἐ)λελυ κ ειν
(2s) (ἐ)λελυ κ εις
(3s) (ἐ)λελυ κ ει
(1p) (ἐ)λελυ κ ειμεν
(2p) (ἐ)λελυ κ ειτε
(3p) (ἐ)λελυ κ εισαν

Principal Parts
Write out or recite the principal parts for ἀγω – to lead
(Present Active) ἀγω
(Future Active) ἀξω
(Aorist Active) ἠγαγον
(Perfect Active) ~
(Perfect Passive) ~
(Aorist Passive) ἠχθην

4 thoughts on “Keep Your Greek (10)

  1. Dear Tony:
    Enjoyed your analogies about coloured t.v and surround sound typifying the experience one has when competency is gained in the Greek New Testament. I truly am enjoying your posts! I noticed one area of detail that you inadvertently missed in the principle parts of αγω, namely the perfect middle/passive ηγμαι. Mounce, pg 385, helped me to verify the observation. Anyhow know I respect your hard work and in no way am I trying to undercut what you’re doing.

    Moving on, I really enjoyed the reading of John 3:15-24. John 3:22b is interesting in that it employs two imperfect active indicative 3rd singular verbs – καὶ ἐκεῖ διέτριβεν μετʼ αὐτῶν καὶ ἐβάπτιζεν. Jesus is the one continuously spending time with them! (per καὶ ἐκεῖ διέτριβεν μετʼ αὐτῶν). Then the text makes a statement that on first glance makes it sound like Jesus is baptizing (καὶ ἐβάπτιζε). Thankfully in the next chapter we have the epiexegetical remark by John in John 4:2 (καίτοιγε Ἰησοῦς αὐτὸς οὐκ ἐβάπτιζεν ἀλλ’ οἱ μαθηταὶ αὐτοῦ—). It almost like their act of baptizing others was so intimately connected to their master, that in effect, its like He was doing it! Anyhow just some thoughts! Keep up the good work dear friend!

    Like

    • Hi Mahlon, thanks for the feedback. Regarding the principle part for αγω, we used a grammar developed by our lecturer and I have double checked to make sure I had the right information from his grammar. It looks like I have and so I have reached out to him regarding your reference to Mounce. Thanks for taking the time to comment and when I hear back I’ll post an updated comment. God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mahlon,

      Below is the reply from my lecturer to my email regarding the perfect of αγω:

      My principal parts list only includes those forms that are attested in the New Testament. The perfect of “αγω” does not appear in the NT

      Regards,
      Tony

      Like

Leave a Reply

